Any business unit other than root business unit can be disabled in CRM 2011. This is done when you no need of this business unit anymore. Before disabling a business unit please consider this problems.
- When you disable a business unit, it not only disable this business but also disables all its child business units as well.
- The user who are assigned to these business units will also be disabled and they will not be able to login Dynamics CRM. However these user will still exist in CRM and their license will not be revoked.
- You cannot assign users to disable business unit.
- Same case with child business units, they cannot be assigned to disabled business unit.
- When you disable business unit, no data associate to business unit will be deleted. (more…)